Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. About the council
  3. Elections and voting
  4. Polling districts and places

Polling district, places and stations

For registering voters and managing elections Forest of Dean District Council is divided into polling districts. A polling place is designated for each polling district.

These have to be reviewed at least every five years but can be reviewed more frequently if required.

Review of Polling Districts, Places and Stations 2022

The review must be carried out to make sure that all electors have such reasonable facilities for voting as are practicable in the circumstances.


The Full Council report which took place Thursday 21 July 2022 can be found HERE,

The next compulsory review is due to start 1 October 2023 and be completed by 31 January 2025.

Interactive map of existing polling district and stations


What is a Polling District?

A polling district is a geographical area. Each parish/parish ward must be a separate polling district. A good starting point is to include the whole parish/parish ward as one polling district. If this is too large in order to provide easy access the area can be split into smaller polling districts.

Forest of Dean is currently divided into 71 polling districts.

What is a polling place?

A polling place is the area or building in which a polling station is located and should be within the polling district unless it is not possible to find a suitable place.

What is a polling station?

A polling station is the actual room or building where polling takes place. This information is available on the notice of poll and communicated to electors via their poll card.